What's Needed?

Course Catalog/Student Handbook Information

CERTIFIED HOME HEALTH AIDE TRAINING NJ

Course Catalog/Student Handbook Information

Sunlight Care LLC provides day, night and On-Line training programs to become a Certified Home Health Aide (CHHA). Our programs are approved by the New Jersey Board of Nursing. We also provide day and night classes to bridge a Certified Nurse's Assistant (CNA) to Certified Home Health Aide.

Classes will be held at Sunlight Care's office as shown below:

The Moorestown facility is right on the 413 bus route with easy access from Camden, Pennsauken, Burlington, Westampton, Eastampton, Mt. Holly, Lumberton, Cherry Hill, Pemberton. Click here for Bus route info.

What is a Home Health Aide?

Home Health Aides assist those who can't complete their Activities of Daily Living (ADLs) on their own anymore. We call this personal care which includes bathing, dressing, toileting and feeding. These services are provided to the clients so they are able to stay safely in the comfort of their own home.

How do I become a Home Health Aide?

In NJ the CHHA course consists of 60 hours of class lecture and 16 hours of training in our on-site skills lab. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge and skills required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide. You will receive a certificate that you finished the course; however, you must apply to the Board of Nursing within 6 months of completing the course to receive state certification.

I'm a Certified Nursing Assistant in New Jersey; can I become a Home Health Aide?

The CNA to CHHA bridge class consists of 10 hours of class lecture covering the required Home Care Module. You must have an active NJ CNA license to take this class. Once training is complete, students will have the knowledge required by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing to become a Certified Home Health Aide. You are unable to take the bridge course if you are a certified nursing assistant in another state. You must be a NEW JERSEY CNA. 

What are the requirements to become a HHA?

Applicants must be 18 years of age, U.S. citizens or qualified legal alien, and have the ability to read, write and speak English proficiently. They must be physically capable of participating in class work such as lifting, getting patients out of bed, giving bed baths, aiding transfers for those with limited mobility, and other patient related care. The NJ Board of Nursing requires that applicants be current on child support obligations, not be in default of student loans, not have been convicted on any "Disqualifying Crimes". You will have to pass a criminal background check and be fingerprinted. You will be asked to demonstrate that you can read and write English. You must bring your government issued ID and your social security card to register for the class. If you are not a US citizen you must bring in proof of eligibility to work in the USA. A birth certificate is also required for the Board of Nursing application. The BON also requires any documents pertaining to name changes, such as marriage certificates or divorce decrees. You may bring all documents when you register. Click here to review the application for the Disqualifying Crimes.

I have a HHA certificate from another state; can I work in New Jersey as a CHHA?

Per Board of Nursing regulations, you must be certified in the state of New Jersey to practice as a CHHA. Most certificates from other states can be transferred to New Jersey. To see if your states certificate is transferable, call the Board of Nursing at (973) 504-6430 and speak with a customer service representative. They will be able to tell you what to do in order to become certified in New Jersey.

I used to be a CHHA in NJ and my license has expired. What do I do?

Depending on when your license expired, you may have to take the course again or take the competency and skills evaluation. Please call the Board of Nursing at (973) 504-6430 and speak with a customer service representative to find out which you have to complete in order to become an active CHHA again. States fees will vary. Paper applications will need to be completed in order to reinstate your certification. You can also refer to the Resources page at the top.

Do I have to be employed with an agency?

Yes. All HHA's certified through the NJ Board of Nursing need to have a "promise of employment" from a prospective HHA agency in order to get certified. In order to maintain your certification, you will need to be employed and registered with an agency during your certification and at time of renewal. Employment is not guaranteed with Sunlight Care. You are more than welcome to apply for employment at sunlightcare.ersp.biz

How long is my certification good for?

All certifications expire every November 30th during odd years. The cost to renew your active certification in 2017 was $30.00. 

How does the On-Line HHA<br>
    Certificate program work?
 

I want to register! What do I need to do?

We are excited you are ready to register for a course. In order to do so you must come to the office with your registration fee and photo ID. You will fill out the registration form and review the policies while here. You can come to the office between the hours of 8:30AM and 4:00PM Monday to Friday. We are not open on the weekends or on major holidays. 

Burlington/Camden/Gloucester

Sunlight Care: Moorestown
505 S. Lenola Rd, Suite 111
Moorestown, NJ 08057
856-780-4003

Course Information | Class Schedule

Sign-up Now

Online Training

Initial visit to one of our physical locations required.

Course Information | Class Schedule

Sign-up Now

505 S. Lenola Rd, Suite 111
Moorestown, NJ 08057
856-780-4003
Site Design By: www.emaxed.com | Site Map